With a lot of help from my friends

 Friends

My exhibition openings and events wouldn’t happen without my friends’ help.

Starting at the Top Left and working clockwise

Jenny Longstaff designed the posters, the catalogue, the postcards, loaned me tables, and chairs, and was the ladder climber when it came to hanging all the work. I’m more of a ground floor person! She also provided food, and made the sangria for the opening and calls in regularly to see if I need anything. She has been my right hand and my left hand person!

John Bellamy lifts, lugs and delivers much-needed exhibition items for me and has unlimited patience.

Sheryl is a ‘two houses up’ neighbour, one of the artists and a superb cook. She turns up at our house with exhibition food, no fuss, no bother, no worries. It’s not a problem Ruth, it’s  nothing is her most common comment.  It is something, it’s a kindness that is very much appreciated.

Barry is my supporter extraordinaire. He looks after all the practicalities at home while I’m at work or flitting around town preparing and looking after exhibitions. He arrives at the gallery with lunch, hot drinks, minds it while I go to the library to collect books and turns up every evening to help me close up. Not many people would feel comfortable telling their  boss to do the dishes or replenish glasses and plates! My boss Julie turns up to every exhibition opening  wanting to help. She’s pretty cool.

Noela provides food for my exhibitions, lends a hand in the kitchen and keeps an eye on the food and drinks to make sure the tables are full. We are so looking forward to November when we’re planning a day trip out-of-town.  Our regular jaunts have been postponed this year because of my busyness at Olveston, at work, and then preparing for this exhibition.

What sort of food and what numbers are you expecting? That’s my friend Elspeth talking. I’ll give her my best guesstimate and an idea of savoury or sweet and leave her to it. She always arrives with beautifully presented food and just gets stuck in organising the kitchen.

Kay is a PitWR trustee and is beginning to realise it involves taking on the not so glamorous roles at times, like taking photographs at the Opening. Thank you Kay, I owe you big time!  Kay also introduced the poets for me which involved research and a fair amount of work.

Pauline turns up before I even know I need her. She delivered carloads of artwork to the Gallery, gave me lifts home, provides hot chocolates and is a wonderful support. Kay caught us catching up just prior to the opening.

DSC03147Last but not least is my next door neighbour Murray. He turned up to help Barry transfer 60 seats from the Art Gallery down to the Community Gallery, organised the Sound System for the Four Poets reading and then came along the next morning to help Barry take the seats back up the hill again. Jan and Murray are great neighbours. They’ve featured in several poems  – one about Jan is in the A Palette of Poetry exhibition.

This entry was posted in Art, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment